The Hay Festival of the Literature and the Arts is Coming to India

Via The Hindu

Lyndy Cooke, executive director of The Hay Festival of the Literature and the Arts, talks about the event that comes to the city in November.

It will be carnival time in the city in November as the The Hay Festival of the Literature and the Arts hits the shores of Kerala. An annual festival held in Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales, it is one of the world’s most prestigious literary festivals and it’s hosting its first India edition in Kerala with around 40 leading authors.

The festival, which is on from November 12 to 14 at Kanakakunnu Palace promises to be a delight for bibliophiles. Besides literature, it will also explore new ideas on arts, poetry et al.

In Kerala, the Hay Festival will be an annual event and we will invite the best international authors, thinkers, publishers and up-and-coming authors. The focus of the fete this year will be more specific, centering on literature, environment, culture, health and education. We will start it small and then let it grow.”

But why a Hay Festival in India? “We have wanted to expand to India for some time now as the writing from the country is fresh. You have excellent writers from India. The writing is varied and often captures the challenges of an aspiring India.

And Kerala? “Kerala contributes quite a bit to Indian literature. It has a rich tradition of literary writing in Malayalam. We hope to spread its appeal gradually across borders. Kerala also has a high literacy rate and is a popular tourist destination.

Read the entire article here.

The official website says “Speakers at The Week Hay Festival 2010 include Amrita Tripathi, Anita Nair, Bama Faustina, Basharat Peer, Bob Geldof, Charu Nivedita, CP Surendran, Gillian Clarke, Hannah Rothschild, Jorge Volpi, K Satchidanand, Mani Shankar Aiyar, Manu Joseph, Marcus du Sautoy, Michelle Paver, Miguel Syjuco, NS Madhavan, Namita Gokhale, Nik Gowing, Paul Zacharia, Pavan Varma, Revel Guest, Rosie Boycott, Rupika Chawla, Sebastian Faulks, Shashi Tharoor, Simon Schama, Sister Jesme, Sonia Faleiro, Tarun Tejpal, Tishani Doshi, Vikram Seth, Vivek Narayanan, William Dalrymple.”

Visit the website
for more details.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

DISCLAIMER :Everything here is the personal opinions of the authors and is not read or approved by pratham books before it is posted. No warranties or other guarantees will be offered as to the quality of the opinions or anything else offered here