Bangalore Book Festival and the Bengaluru Sahityotsava to be hosted together.

Image source: Bangalore Book Festival brochure

 The Bengaluru Sahityotsava 2012 will be held from 14th-16th December 2012 at Tripuravasini, Palace Grounds, Bangalore. This edition of Book Festival will show-case a National level literary meet called Bengaluru Sahityotsava, which will feature popular writers with Gnanapeeth Awards, Sahitya Academy Awards, Saraswati Sanman and other prestigious awards. The objective of combining Bengaluru Sahityotsava with Book Festival is to promote reading habits and book culture especially among the younger generation.

This literary meet invites Tamil, Hindi, Malayalam, Oriya, Konkani, Marathi, Tulu, Bengali, Rajasthani and Gujarati authors apart from the Kannada literati to participate and present their work. The three day event is filled with literary activities. This event is jointly organised by The Bangalore Booksellers and Publishers Association along with Indian Illustrated Classiscs. The event is supported by Kannada Pustaka Pradhihara, Bangalore, Sahitya Akademi and The Federation of Publishers’ and Booksellers’ Associations in India (FPBAI),New Delhi.

The Schedule for the event is as follows:

Day-1: 14th December, 4.00 pm
Inauguration and Presidential address by:
Prof. Chandrashekara Kambara, President of Advisory Committee – Bengaluru Sahityotsava

Day-2: 15th December 2012
Session 1: 10 to 11.30 am – Promotion of Inter Literature Understanding.

Participating Writers:
1. Dr. Rajendra Chenni – Kannada
2. Dr. Su Venkateshan – Tamil
3. Dr. Siddalinga Pattanashetty – Kannada
4. Sri. M. P. Veerendrakumar – Malayalam
Moderator: Sri. Sugatha S. Raju

Session 2: 12 noon to 1.30 pm- Writers and Contemporary Issues
Participating Writers:
1. Sri. Anandan – Malayalam
2. Sri. Devanur Mahadeva – Kannada
3. Dr. Samala Sadashiva – Telugu
4. Dr. Bargur Ramachandrappa -Kannada
Moderator: Dr. Natraj Huliyar

Session 3: 2.30 pm to 4.00 pm – Book Talk and Dialogue with Writers
Participating Writers:
1. Dr. Girish Karnad – Kannada
2. Su. Kandaswamy – Tamil
3. Dr. C. Narayana Reddy – Telugu

Session 4: 4.30 pm to 6 pm – Book Talk and Dialogue with Writers
Participating Writers :
1. Dr. S. L. Byrappa – Kannada
2. Sri. M. T. Vasudevan Nair – Malayalam
3. Sri. Sithakantha Mahapatra – Oriya

Day-3 : 16th December 2012
Session 1: 10 am to 11.30 am – Freedom of Expression and Social Harmony

Participant Writers:
1. Smt. Chitra Mudugal – Hindi
2. Prof. C. N. Ramachandran – Kannada
3. Prof. H. S. Raghavedra Rao –
4. Dr. Ramakanth Rath – Oriya
Moderator: Dr. K. E. Radhakrishna

Session 2: 12 noon to 1.30 pm – Writers and Inter-Linguistic issues
Participant Writers:
1. Dr. L. Hanumanthaiah – Kannada
2. Dr. M. Mukundan – Malayalam
3. Dr. Hampa Nagarajiah – Kannada
4. Sri. Sayad saleem – Telugu
Moderator: Sri. O. L. Nagabushana Swamy

Session 3: 2.30 pm to 4.30 pm – Poets Meet and Recital of Poetry
Participating Poets:
Dr. Viswanath Prasad Tiwari – ( Presiding)
1. Sri. Sachidanandan – Malayalam
2. Dr. Siddalingaiah – Kannada
3. Sri. Nagesh Karmali – Konkani
4. Amrutha Somashekar – Tulu
5. Sri. Utpala Sathyanarayanacharya – Telugu
6. Smt. Vanitha – Punjabi
7. Sri. Kailash Vajpeyee – Hindi
8. Sri. Amar Somoy Alpa – Bengali
9. Sri. Khaleel Mamoon – Urdu
10. Prof. S G Siddaramiah
11. Sri. Srihari – Gujarati
12. Sri. Sowbhagyakumar Mishra – Oriya
13. Sri,Vairamuttu – Tamil
14. Sri. Chandrakanth Patil – Marathi
15. Sri. Chandraprakash Deval – Rajasthani
16. Dr. K. S. Nisar Ahamad – Kannada.
17. Dr.Chennaveera Kanavi – Kannada
18. Smt. Harish Minashru – Gujarati
19. Smt. H. L. Pushpa – Kannada
20. Dr. Ajaikumar Singh – Kannada.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

DISCLAIMER :Everything here is the personal opinions of the authors and is not read or approved by pratham books before it is posted. No warranties or other guarantees will be offered as to the quality of the opinions or anything else offered here